LCD-Fix IT

All bout hardware etc.
Post Reply
hezo
Forum Warrior
Posts: 1199
Joined: 27 Jul 2005 17:25
#IRC: Hezo
Battletag: Hezo#2525
Eve-Online alias: Hezos
WoT: Hezo
Steam: Hezo
GW2 Tag: hezo.3085
Location: Turku, Finland
Contact:

LCD-Fix IT

Post by hezo » 21 May 2010 18:40

PART 1

So my old samsung 2232BW (22") monitors picture is flickering and it needs few minutes "warm-up" time to show picture without any flickering.
Browsing some forums I found that some condensators in its power supply might cause problems like that. (common thing with samsungs)

I open the monitor and see that 6 condensators are somewhat misshaped so I decide to change those(5x820μF and 1x330μF @ 25v). Asked around and found that 2 stores here in Turku sells stuff like that to consumers and one of em is at walking distant from my workplace.

Visited the store but they did not have condensators with those values so I took 5x1000μF and 1x480μF condensators and decided to gamble, total price was 5€ anyways. It took 20mins to replace the condensators and another 10mins to plug all internal cords in. Plugged in power.... Good no big explosion or smoke yet... Pressed power button... We have power light and still all seems good... Plugged DVI cable.... computer recognized monitor all right... and we have totally WHITE picture and nothing else. So I did fix the flickering problem alright but now I only get white picture.

So now I need to find condensators with right values + store that sells em and hope I did not broke anything with those bigger condensators...

hezo
Forum Warrior
Posts: 1199
Joined: 27 Jul 2005 17:25
#IRC: Hezo
Battletag: Hezo#2525
Eve-Online alias: Hezos
WoT: Hezo
Steam: Hezo
GW2 Tag: hezo.3085
Location: Turku, Finland
Contact:

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by hezo » 21 May 2010 19:14

PART 2
Okey this came quick. Cord that transfers image from monitors internal circuits to panel was gotten lose during my assembly so I used adhesive to make it stay in place (socket where that cord goes was a bit damaged after my harsh attempts to get cord out of it). So now we have clear picture without any flickering and it only took 5euros and little time to get it fixed. So note to all DIY men and women, double check, and check some more.

Sadly there is no more pictures to be taken as it works now ;)
(Residential DSLR-camera is also nowhere to be seen so quick shots with old camera)

Houston we have picture
http://meri.rosvot.org/monitor/P1010412.JPG

Old CrapXonis
http://meri.rosvot.org/monitor/P1010383.JPG

User avatar
tugi
Major General
Posts: 604
Joined: 12 Feb 2005 16:26
#IRC: tugi
Battletag: Tugi#2940
WoW alias: Tugi
Location: Espoo

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by tugi » 21 May 2010 21:12

Good job! My bro did the same repair for an Abit motherboard few years ago when it had a bad patch of condensators. I guess there's not that many things that could go wrong but the mechanical failures (your ribbon cable and other similar) and perhaps some experience is needed with soldering while removing the condensators.
Maybe burning other components is not that big of a risk but atleast pulling a trace from mobo happens quite easy. =D

T
Image

User avatar
Raivotar
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 387
Joined: 15 Mar 2004 20:28
Eve-Online alias: Raivotar
WoW alias: Raivotar/Nuitari
Waralias: Raivo
Darkfall alias: Raivo Astarot
Location: Porvoo, Finland
Contact:

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by Raivotar » 21 May 2010 21:47

Nice work. Cheap ass condensators are allways first to go.
Image

Antti
King of Movie Reviews
Posts: 2388
Joined: 06 Sep 2004 22:18
Battletag: Rembrandt#2878
WoT: Rembrandt
MWO tag: Rembrandt
Steam: Rembrandt -Hillo
Location: Raiso.

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by Antti » 22 May 2010 22:01

Man!

Great job done! That really was 5€ worth trying! I'm more than willing to give it a try if I never ever come to same kind of problem.

Heres to u man some:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_DZ3_obMXwU
------------------
Meidän äiti tekee teidän äideistä ruokaa.
-------------
Image

User avatar
kraich
Director, FinFleet
Posts: 201
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 14:31
Eve-Online alias: Kraich
Location: Savo

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by kraich » 09 May 2011 22:40

Same screen, same problem.. :?
waiting new condensators to arrive....

http://img691.imageshack.us/g/dscf0347j.jpg


Image

hezo
Forum Warrior
Posts: 1199
Joined: 27 Jul 2005 17:25
#IRC: Hezo
Battletag: Hezo#2525
Eve-Online alias: Hezos
WoT: Hezo
Steam: Hezo
GW2 Tag: hezo.3085
Location: Turku, Finland
Contact:

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by hezo » 10 May 2011 07:27

At least its easy fix :D

User avatar
kraich
Director, FinFleet
Posts: 201
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 14:31
Eve-Online alias: Kraich
Location: Savo

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by kraich » 14 May 2011 14:23

Päätin sitten vaihtaa kaikki elkot uusiksi.
Partcon kautta tilasin Farnellin valikoimasta kimppatilauksella, kun ei tuolla kakkos näytöllä niin kiirettä ole korjaantua,
tuleepahan ainakin juuri vastaavan kokoiset kuin alkuperäiset.

http://www.farnell.com/fi/kondensaattorit/
http://www.partco.biz/verkkokauppa/prod ... ducts_id=1

User avatar
plasmis
Postman (posts always twice)
Posts: 2074
Joined: 14 Jun 2005 19:39
#IRC: plasmis @ ircnet
Eve-Online alias: Eihok & Sinebrychoff
WoT: Plasmis
WoW alias: Paukku (?)
Origin: PlasmaPekka
xboxlive: PlasmaPekka
Steam: plasmis
Location: Tampere, Suomen Saksa
Contact:

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by plasmis » 14 May 2011 23:33

Savun hälvettyä tarkistamme kytkennät.

User avatar
Graghack
General
Posts: 867
Joined: 28 Nov 2006 21:00
Battletag: Grägi#2826
WoW alias: Borekupla, Grägi *retired*
Location: Helsinki

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by Graghack » 16 May 2011 06:47

plasmis wrote:Savun hälvettyä tarkistamme kytkennät.
Koko threadi on pelkkää asiaa
These incomprehensible Goofballs are always giving me everything they have to save me. So I need to answer to their incomprehensibility in kind! -kill la kill-

User avatar
kraich
Director, FinFleet
Posts: 201
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 14:31
Eve-Online alias: Kraich
Location: Savo

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by kraich » 27 May 2011 12:13

and its works 8)
new capacitors even fixed panel brightness, good as new.
Replaced all with Panasonic ones with same values, even that big bastard, had to use jump wires for that one since could only find snap in model.

http://imageshack.us/g/26/dscf0389q.jpg/
Image

User avatar
Luna Negra
General of the Army
Posts: 939
Joined: 16 Mar 2005 02:49
Eve-Online alias: Luna Negra

Re: LCD-Fix IT

Post by Luna Negra » 27 May 2011 17:37

Electrolytic condensators have the life time of 5-10y depending the ambient temperature they are used in.
The electrolyte inside the caps dry and thus they ether expand or collapse inside loosing their capacitance.
My guess is that those caps keep the DC voltage to the diodes constant and when the voltage has a constant variation the lumens of the diodes are affected.

Altho my experience is from caps that are over 400VDC and above 3000μF with the size of a 0,5l beer can 8)
Gravity you win again!

Post Reply